Radiation Safety Committee

Syracuse University’s radiation safety committee (RSC) administers the University’s radiation safety program and promotes the safe and compliant use of radioactive materials and radiation-producing equipment at the University. The RSC approves all use radioactive materials and radiation-producing equipment at the University and monitors radiation safety program activities including training, occupational exposures, waste management, etc.

Syracuse University’s RSC membership consists of the University’s Radiation Safety Officer, Senior Vice President of Safety, and faculty and staff representatives from University departments where sources of ionizing radiation are used. RSC members are appointed by the University’s Vice Present of Research and approved by NYS Department of Health. RSC meetings are help at least once per calendar quarter.

Chair of the RSC

  • Dr. Suzanne Baldwin, professor of earth sciences

Radiation Safety Officer

  •  Rebecca Ponza, director, Environmental Health and Safety Services

Technical Members of the RSC

  • Dr. Carlos Castaneda, assistant professor of biology and chemistry
  • Dr. Robert Doyle, professor of chemistry
  • Dr. Eric Finkelstein, research assistance professor, biomedical and chemical engineering
  • Dr. Sheldon Stone, distinguished professor of physics

Administrative Member of the RSC

  • Anthony Callisto, Jr. , senior vice president and chief law enforcement officer, Campus Safety and Emergency Services